Skip to product information
1 of 2


Minette Walters – Desert Island Books

Minette Walters – Desert Island Books

Bestselling crime writer and historical novelist Minette Walters chooses eight books that map her life and explains why she has chosen them in conversation with DLF Co Director Paul Atterbury.

Minette Walter’s first crime novel, The Ice House, was published by Macmillan in 1992, after being rejected by numerous publishing houses. Four months later it won the CWA John Creasey award for best first novel and had been snapped up by 11 foreign publishers. Her second novel, The Sculptress won the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award and her third The Scold’s Bridle won the CWA Gold Dagger. In 2017 she turned her attention to historical fiction, with the aim of making it as readable as any of her thrillers. She is published in almost 40 countries and has sold more than 25 million copies of her books worldwide.

View full details

The Authors

the authors discuss their inspiration and motivation

  • Dorchester:

    Thomas Hardy Country - The Home of Literature in the South West

  • Easy Tickets on your Mobile

    Get your tickets by email or on your mobile